Today on “Sporejumping the Shark” with Star Trek Discovery (S2-E2 Review/Reaction/Rambling)

John E. Price
11 min readJan 25, 2019

Here’s some behind the scenes info for you, my loyal readers: when I got up this morning I tried to write my review. But I couldn’t remember anything substantial about the episode. That’s my review. “Completely forgettable” pretty much sums up my reaction to Ep. 2 “New Eden.” But where’s the fun in that?!

Then sure enough I go on the ole interwebz and everyone is raving about how this was the best STD episode ever! Star Trek is back! Finally! Yay!!!! (Hilariously, people who have been defending it from day one are the ones often saying this, but hey, I won’t question the intentions of people who very clearly have no relationship to any semblance of self-awareness.)

So, sure, let’s break it down. Hold on, I have to go watch it again. See above.

The Good

They’re in a church with a big stained-glass Iconian. It gets less subtle from there, folks.

Frakes. Jonathan Frakes can direct a Star Trak episode in his sleep. This is a good thing. The one episode he directed in Season 1 was considered by many, if not most, the best-directed episode of the whole season. This episode is getting a similar reaction. Boy, people are loving this episode. And yeah, it’s a very competently directed episode, with just the right amount of texture and feel to tell the audience that they’re watching Star Trek. The scene between…

--

--

John E. Price

Academic and Trekkie. I talk about the politics of culture, review nerd stuff, and golf a lot. Co-host: @podmeandering, #TopFive, @folkwise13